Audio: DJ Balele's 'Africa' Vinyl Mixtape II

Download DJ Balele's "Africa" vinyl mixtape mash of vintage cuts and modern concoctions.

Barcelona-based vinyl head DJ Balele has spent many moons crate-digging in Equatorial Guinea and traveling across Senegal, Mali, Gambia, Mozambique and Morocco. In this second mix of vinyl selections, Balele cycles through vintage cuts from the likes Orchestra Super Mazembe and Africa 70, as well as more modern, diaspora-influenced concoctions from Madlib, Fela Soul and others. Stream/download it below and don't miss out on his previous sun-tinged mixtape.


1- ( intro voces ) zvoku mayadhi, Devera Ngwena Jazz Band ( Zimbabwe )

2- makorokoto, The four brothers ( Zimbabwe )

3- pepepe, Orchestra super mazembe ( Kenya )

4- amour et souvenir, Diblo with Loketo ( Zaire )

5- mambo bado, Orchestra Makassy ( Zaire-Kenya )

6- kwaakwaa, Gyedu-Blay Ambolley ( Ghana )

7- stakes is high, Fela Soul ( NY-Nigeria )

8- ( interlude ) Beat konducta in Africa, Madlib ( L.A )

9- make it fast,make it slow, Rob ( Ghana )

10- mimbo, The funkees ( Nigeria )

11- maye obi den, Kyerematen stars ( Ghana )

12- it's no possible, Fela Ransome-Kuti & the Africa 70 ( Nigeria )

13- ( interlude ) Beat konducta in Africa, Madlib ( L.A )

14- indépendence cha cha, Grand Kallé ( D.R.Congo )


The 9 Songs You Need to Hear This Week

Featuring Burna Boy, Shatta Wale, The Big Hash, Buju, Emtee, Bosom P-Yung and more.

Every week, we highlight the top releases through our best music of the week column.

Here's our round up of the best tracks and music videos that came across our desks, which you can also check out in our Songs You Need to Hear This Week playlists on Spotify and Apple Music.

Follow our SONGS YOU NEED TO HEAR THIS WEEK playlist on Spotify here and Apple Music here.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Ubunifu Space Docu-Series Features Riky Rick, Sho Madjozi, Shekinah & More

Ubunifu Space's latest episode is narrated by Riky Rick and features cameos from Sho Madjozi, Shekinah, DJ Maphorisa, Moonchild Sanelly and YoungstaCPT.