Fela Kuti: Vinyl Box Set 3 Compiled By Brian Eno Out Now!

Brian Eno will curate the next Fela Kuti 7-LP vinyl box set from Knitting Factory Records

Knitting Factory Records continue their vinyl box set reissues of Fela Kuti with a 7-LP curation from Brian Eno. The highly influential composer and collaborator/producer for David Bowie, Talking Heads, and U2, among a star-list of others, follows Questlove and Ginger Baker in handpicking seven of his favorite Fela releases. "I remember the first time I listened [to Fela's album Afrodisiac] and how dazzled I was by the groove and the rhythmic complexity, and by the raw, harsh sounds of the brass," Eno recalls, "like Mack trucks hurtling across highways with their horns blaring. Everything I thought I knew about music at that point was up in the air again."

For his box set, Brian Eno's selected London Scene (1971), Shakara (1972), Gentleman (1973), Zombie (1976), Upside Down (1976), I.T.T. (1980), and, the above mentioned, Afrodisiac (1973). The box set will also include 12-page full-size booklet with a foreword by Brian Eno, in-depth commentaries about all seven albums written by afrobeat historian Chris May, and song lyrics. As a special bonus an exclusive A2 poster is included. All seven LPs come in their own sleeves with Lemi Ghariokwu's iconic original artwork. See Brian Eno's thoughts on Fela and view a full track listing below. For more, catch Finding Fela, out in theaters now. Fela Kuti: Vinyl Box Set 3 Compiled by Brian Eno is out September 30 from KFR.


Track Listings:

London Scene (1971)

Side A:

Track 1 - J'Ehin J'Ehin (Chop Teeth - Chop Teeth)

Track 2 - Egbe Mio (Carry Me)

Side B:

Track 3 - Who're You

Track 4 - Buy Africa

Track 5 - Fight To Finish

Shakara (1972)

Side A:

Track 1 - Lady

Side B:

Track 2 - Shakara (Oloje)

Gentleman (1973)

Side A:

Track 1 - Gentleman

Side B:

Track 2 - Fefe - Naa Efe

Track 3 - Igbe

Zombie (1976)

Side A:

Track 1 - Zombie

Side B:

Track 2 - Mr. Follow Follow

Upside Down (1976)

Side A:

Track 1 - Upside Down

Side B:

Track 2 - Go Slow

Afrodisiac (1973)

Side A:

Track 1 - Alu Jon Jonki Jon

Track 2 - Jeun Ko Ku (Chop and Quench)

Side B:

Track 3 - Eko Ile

Track 4 - Je'Nwi Temi (Don't Gag Me)

I.T.T. (1980)

Side A:

Track 1 - ITT (Part 1) - Instrumental (00:00 - 11:16)

Side B:

Track 2 - ITT (Part 2) - Vocal (12:43 to the end)

Photo by Meztli Yoalli Rodríguez

Dying Lagoons Reveal Mexico’s Environmental Racism

In the heart of a traditionally Black and Indigenous use area in Southwest Mexico, decades of environmental destruction now threatens the existence of these communities.

On an early morning in September 2017, in a little fishing village in the Pacific coast of Oaxaca, called Zapotalito, thousands of dead fish floated on the surface of the Chacahua-Pastoría lagoons. A 7.1-magnitude earthquake, which rattled Mexico City on September 19, was felt as far down as Zapotalito, and the very next morning, its Black, Indigenous and poor Mestizo residents, who depend on the area's handful of lagoons for food and commerce, woke up to an awful smell and that terrible scene of floating fish.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Watch Focalistic & Vigro Deep’s New Music Video For ‘Ke Star’

The 'Lockdown Level 1 anthem' has come to life through fire visuals.