'Future Sound Of Mzansi' Shares Nozinja Clip On NOWNESS

Spoek Mathambo's documentary film 'Future Sound Of Mzansi' shares a clip of Shangaan Electro producer Nozinja on NOWNESS.

Last month Future Sound Of Mzansi earned a spot on our Top Films of 2014 list. The project, which marked Spoek Mathambo's filmmaking debut, is an investigation of post-apartheid South Africa through the lens of electronic music. The film features an extensive roster of key players in SA's electronic music renaissance, including producers like Felix Laband, Black Coffee, DJ Spoko, Christian Tiger School, Jumping Back Slash, Okmalumkoolkat, and recent Warp Records signee Nozinja, who features in a clip that premiered this week on NOWNESS. "For me to be known and to be seen all over, representing that same marginalised and abused nation, I feel proud," explains the hyper-speed Shangaan Electro pioneer. Watch on below and stay tuned for news about where and when you can watch Future Sound of Mzansi in full. For more from Nozinja watch his Chris Saunders-directed dance video for "Tsekeleke," one of our top 10 clips of 2014.

>>>Spoek Mathambo's Future Sound of Mzansi Mix Series


Listen To Sun-El Musician’s Sophomore Album ‘To The World & Beyond’

South African deejay and producer extraordinaire, Sun-El Musician drops 'To The World & Beyond', the follow-up to his widely successful 2018 debut, 'Africa To The World'.

After two years of working on it, Sun-El Musician has finally released his highly anticipated second studio album, To The World & Beyond. The musician told Apple Music:

"This album is a continuation of my debut album Africa to the World, and is focused on telling a story of healing and hope through dance music".

To The World & Beyond is a double album which hosts a total of 31 tracks, including the previously released "Ubomi Abumanga," "Uhuru," "Mandinaye," "Never Never," "Garden" and more.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Listen to Focalistic’s New Project ‘Sghubu Ses Excellent’

Focalistic releases highly anticipated project 'Sghubu Ses Excellent' featuring Riky Rick, Madumane, Mr JazziQ, Vigro Deep, Mas Musiq, Semi Tee, 25K, Reece Madlisa and more.