Image supplied.

MTV Africa Music Awards Announces Top 20 'Listener's Choice' Finalists

MTV Africa Music Awards Announces Top 20 'Listeners' Choice' Finalists

Focalistic, Tiwa Savage, DBN Gogo and more score a spot on the nominees list for the 'Listener's Choice' award at the 2021 MAMAs.

The 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs) have released the first round of finalists for the exciting "Listeners' Choice" category. Twenty artists from 18 different African countries have made the first round of finalists, making it a highly contested category. South African artist Focalistic has secured a spot along with Durban's favourite female beat dropper, DBN Gogo and DJ Dinho. Nigerian songstress Tiwa Savage has also made it as a finalist alongside several other artists from across the continent.

Read: Here Are the 2021 MTV Africa Music Awards Nominees

Focalistic is known for his genre-bending music with his fusion of amapiano with rap. He collaborated with music heavyweight Riky Rick on the cult hit single "Ungazincishe". Focalistic dropped his highly-anticipated EP Sghubu Ses Excellent last year in December and cemented his place on South Africa's music scene. On the other hand, DJs DBN Gogo and Dinho are known for their energetic and vibrant dance sets which can keep a party going until dawn.

The 2021 MAMAs have reportedly stated that the "Listeners' Choice" award will give music fans the opportunity to have their voices heard. The majority of finalists in this category was determined by votes on local radio stations and social media, selecting the best publicly-voted musicians from different African countries. The "Listeners' Choice" award ensures that the voices of music lovers across the diverse countries on the continent are recognised," says Monde Twala, Senior Vice President and General Manager at ViacomCBS Networks Africa (VCNA) in a press statement.

Music fans still have the opportunity to vote for the favourites with voting officially closing on January 31st. The MAMAs will be held virtually in Kampala, Uganda on February 20th and according to Variety, will be hosted by the inimitable DJ Khaled.

Here's a full list of nominees for the MTV Africa Music Awards Kampala 2021 "Listeners' Choice" category:

Anna Joyce (Angola)
ASAPH (Zimbabwe)
Dagi D (Ethiopia)
DBN Gogo & DJ Dinho (South Africa)
Didi B (Cote D'Ivoire)
Drizilik (Sierra Leone)
Focalistic (South Africa)
Khaligraph Jones (Kenya)
Locko (Cameroon)
Malome Vector (Lesotho)
Meddy (Rwanda)
Mohamed Ramadan (Egypt)
Ngaaka Blindé (Senegal)
Pallaso (Uganda)
Rayvanny (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Shirazee (Benin)
Slick Stuart & DJ Roja (Uganda)
Souhila Ben Lachhab (Algeria)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

News Brief
Photo by RAJESH JANTILAL / AFP via Getty Images.

South Africa's Zulu Monarchy Prepares to Bury Queen

The Zulu royal delegation is preparing to take the remains of the late Zulu Queen Shiyiwe Mantfombi Dlamini Zulu to KwaZulu-Natal in preparation for her funeral this week.

Funeral preparations are currently underway following the passing of Queen Shiyiwe Mantfombi Dlamini Zulu, regent of the Zulu nation, last week on Thursday, 29 April. Queen Mantfombi, who was reportedly ill, had been hospitalised two days prior to her passing. The third wife to the late King Goodwill Zwelithini, who passed away in March of this year, she is set to be buried in KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) this Thursday with a memorial held on the Friday according to the Prime Minister of the Zulu nation, Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


The Africa Soft Power Project Celebrates Africa Month With A Series of Talks

Featuring some of the most brilliant African minds, the 2021 edition of The Africa Soft Power Series virtual summit will take place from May 5 to 25.