Spoek Mathambo’s Future Sound Of Mzansi Mix Series: Fever Trails

Spoek Mathambo's 'Future Sound of Mzansi' mix series returns with 39 minutes from Cape Town dreamy beatmaker Fever Trails.

Photo: Kent Andreasen

It's been three weeks since we've seen a new mixtape from Spoek Mathambo, which by Spoek's superhuman standards is something of a hiatus. The chief ambassador of the Mzansi renaissance, Spoek's been keeping busy all season with two projects that we're especially excited about. Firstly there's his South African "superband" Fantasma, which wrapped up their first major homecoming performance at Oppikoppi last weekend and prior to that played a string of festivals in the UK. With their debut EP set to arrive 20th October via Soundway Records, the group has been recording beachside at their very own Fantasmaland headquarters in the Eastern Cape. Hand-in-hand with Fantasma is Spoek and filmmaker Lebogang Rasethaba's new documentary Future Sound of Mzansi, a project that looks at South Africa’s “cultural landscape” through the lens of its electronic music scene and features a roll call of so many of our favorite South African artists. In the lead-up to the film's world premier last month at the Durban International Film Festival, Spoek promised to roll out a series of mixtapes dedicated to artists and genres featured in the doc. So far he's come through with tapes of/from DJ Spoko, Okmalumkoolkat, KZN’s mysterious Qgom sub-genre, Aero Manyelo, and Maramza.

Today Spoek turns things over to Fever Trails, aka the solo production moniker of Bateleur's Nicolaas van Reenen and occasionally his live collaborators Sebastiano Zanasi from Christian Tiger School, Dylan Jefferys (Bateleur) and Skye MacInnes (Like Knives). We were first introduced to van Reenan's spacey sub-bass beatwork in April through his drippy self-titled debut single (via Bad Life). The shortest but sweetest collection of dreamy astronomical Mzansi beats to date, the 39-minute tape spans nine tracks of young and unreleased Fever Trails originals. Listen on below and download the tape here.

Spoek Mathambo’s Future Sound Of Mzansi Mix Series: Fever Trails Tracklist

1. Bells - FT

2. Dream, Rabbit - FT

3. Goldshine (FT Remix) - Card on Spokes

4. Skrum - FT

5.Untitled - FT

6. Pattern Language - FT

7. On & On (FT Remix) - Astro Zu

8. Fever Trails - FT

9. I Can't Figure You Out (FT remix) - Hugh

Image courtesy of Killbeatz.

Interview: Killbeatz' Short & Sweet Debut EP, 'Love and Happiness'

We speak to the renowned afrobeats producer about his joint Love and Happiness EP with King Promise & Ofori Amponsah, and his daughter's inspiration behind the project.

Killbeatz needs no introduction. The producer born Joseph Addison is one of the biggest hitmakers as far as afrobeats is concerned. From R2Bees to Sarkodie to FuseODG to M.anifest, Killbeatz has blessed your favorite singers and rappers alike with the soundtracks to their biggest hits. From the azonto era to the global spread of afrobeats, his contribution to African music as a whole cannot be overstated.

However, Killbeatz' influence doesn't stop at just music production. Behind the scenes, he's a complete industry player. The CEO of Ghanaian record label Legacy Life Entertainment, he's responsible for bringing star singer King Promise to the limelight.

Despite producing for the crème de la crème of the Ghanaian music industry as well as several international artists over the length of a decade, the highly-influential producer and instrumentalist never had a project of his own. Now he has set out to change that. In October 2020 Killbeatz dropped his debut EP, titled Love and Happiness.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Tanzanian Artist Ommy Dimpoz Releases 'Dede' & Energetic Music Video

Tanzanian artist Ommy Dimpoz has dropped his latest track 'Dede' featuring DJ Tira, Dladla Mshunqisi and Prince Bulo in addition to an energetic music video.