Dutty Artz 6 Years Deep Compilation: L'Afrique Est Un Pays EP

The final edition of Dutty Artz 6 Years Deep Compilation features the 'L'Afrique Est Un Pays' EP.

NYC-based independent label Duttz Artz — home of OKA favorites DJ/RuptureChief Boima, Old Money, Geko Jones and Lamin Fofana — is celebrating six years of existence as a forward-pushing, global music imprint. Marking the occasion is 6 Years Deep — a compilation of geographically-oriented EPs summarizing the Dutty Artz experience in 2013. The final edition in the series, L’Afrique Est Un Pays, delivers five offerings spanning the continent and the diaspora in the spirit of the Dutty Artz' revitalized mission statement: "a movement of global participation and belonging intertwined with the issues that globalization forces us to think about and deal with."

Keeping with the series' post-colonial literary theme, the EP kicks off with BK-based Sierra Leonean producer Lamin Fofana's homage to the late Chinua Achebe — featuring an appropriated edit of Binyavanga Wainaina’s reflection on meeting Achebe. On "Leave Me Alone," Queens-based Nigerian-American rapper Kev responds to the haters trying to deny his African identity, instead toasting to being a "westernized African" with help from Haz Ali, who sings in Wolof on the hook. For his contribution Boima serves up a Bubu Gang-inspired dub reworking. Next comes Africa Latina, the acoustic undertaking of Geko Jones, Uproot Andy, Chief Boima, Parfum Zola, and Issac Katalay. And, lastly, Fédéric Galliano brings kuduro madness with help from Luanda-based vocalist Monica. Listen to the full 6 Years Deep compilation below and take a look at the L'Afrique Est Un Pays EP tracklist.

L’Afrique Est Un Pays

1) Binyavanga Wainaina Remembers Chinua Achebe (Lamin Fofana Grace Edit)

2) Kev – Leave Me Alone feat. Haz Ali

3) Chief Boima – Lek U Culture (Bubu Crunk Dub)

4) Africa Latina – Elikia

5) Frédéric Galliano – Dj Bate no meu bumbum (feat. Monica)

News Brief
Podcast cover art.

Bobi Wine's Release Detailed in Latest Episode of 'The Messenger'

Trauma is the topic on the podcast's latest episode: "The Ballot or The Bullet."

The latest episode of The Messenger is something to behold.

Created by Sudanese-American rapper Bas, The Messenger throws the spotlight on the thunderous circumstances many African countries face, with a close focus on Ugandan politician Bobi Wine.

In his most recent traumatic experience, Wine and his wife Barbara Itungo Kyagulanyi were released from a nearly two-week military house arrest following the ruling of a Ugandan court. Keeping up with current events and circumstances that Wine finds himself in, the latest episode of the podcast recounts the traumatic events that led to Wine's very public abuse and eventual house arrest.

Upon his release, Wine spoke with The Messenger and had this to say, "I want to remind the world that we went in this election knowing how corrupt the staff of the electoral commission is. We saw this through the campaign and the world saw how much was oppressed, how biased and one sided the electoral commission was, and how much it was in the full grip of General Museveni. And therefore we are going to test every legal test, we shall take every legal test. We shall take every legal step. And indeed we shall take every moral and morally proactive, nonviolent, but legal and peaceful step to see that we liberate ourselves. The struggle has not ended. It is just beginning."

Listen to Episode 7 of The Messenger here.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


The 9 Best Nigerian Songs of the Month (January)

Featuring Ayra Starr, Reekado Banks x Tiwa Savage, Femi Kuti, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Joeboy, Yung L, Buju and more