Chief Boima's 'Six Over Eight' Mix

Fresh off his Africa Latina tour, Chief Boima releases a celebratory 'Six Over Eight' mix centered around the 6/8 time signature.

Fresh off his Africa Latina tour, global bass guru Chief Boima drops a celebratory mix chock full of bangers centered around the 6/8 time signature. Boima's 32-minute Six Over Eight mix features an eclectic range of funk, bass and rumba from Angola, Brazil, Guatemala, Congo, and Portugal, among other sounds that explore the enduring influence of the rhythm in Africa and the diaspora. Stream/download the mix below, then head over to Dutty Artz to read Boima's in-depth breakdown behind the mix as well as highlights from his tour, which include last month's crowd-pleasing Okayafrica Electrafrique x Celebrate Brooklyn! set with DJ Underdog.

Chief Boima's Six Over 8 Tracklist

1. Patcheko - “Tshaku”

2. Ary DJ - "Toca O Tambor"

3. DJR7 - "Loucuridade das Embrazadas"

4. Victor Falcão - “Menina Do Cabare”

5. MC Pedrinho and MC Kalzin - “Mamatorizaçao Do Dom Dom Dom”

6. Mr. Jamaika - “BumBum Tremer”

7. Dotorado - "Moche"

8. PutO MarciO - “Afro Guetto Beat 2014”

9. DJ Nigga Fox - “Hwwambo”

10. Quantic ft. Pongo Love - “Duvidó”

11. DJ Captain Planet - "Quetzalcoatl Offering"

12. Byano DJ - “Putaria Mexicana”

13. SR Mala - “Senta”

14. SPDeville - “Into Darkness Indi Print”

15. DJ DN de Caxias - “Mixagem Da Sentada”

16. DJR7 - "Embraza do Romano"

17. Byano DJ- "Passinho Arabe”

Photo: Courtesy of Amazon Prime

The ‘Coming 2 America’ Original Motion Picture Soundtrack & ‘The Rhythm Of Zamunda’ Are Out Now

Featuring Tiwa Savage, Tekno, Larry Gaaga, Alpha P, Davido and many more.

It has been more than 30 years since the premiere of the beloved classic comedy Coming to America. Its highly anticipated sequel promises to be greater than its predecessor. The film will be accompanied with two albums—Coming 2 America original motion picture soundtrack and Rhythms of Zamunda, whose tracklist is inspired by the movie. Both albums, which are currently available on all major streaming platforms, feature African music royalty Tiwa Savage, Tekno, Larry Gaaga and Alpha P, who joined a select group of artists from around the continent to produce these tracklists.

Still blazing charts after the success of his debut album Old Romance, Tekno has a growing list of impressive collaborations with artists like Davido, Drake, Beyonce, to name a few. The singer does not have not one, but two of his hit songs featured; "Waka Waka" is featured on the official soundtrack and "Skeletun" on Rhythms of Zamunda.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Thebe Magugu's AW21 Collection 'Alchemy' Is An Exploration of African Spirituality

Magugu collaborated with Kristin-Lee Moolman to create a '70s-style B movie called Banyoloyi A Bosigo