Cape Town Electronic Music Festival Reveals Full 2016 Lineup: Petite Noir, Okmalumkoolkat, Rudeboyz, Aero Manyelo & More

Petite Noir, Rudeboyz, Aero Manyelo, Nightmares On Wax and more will perform at the 2016 Cape Town Electronic Music Festival

Petite Noir. Photo Credit: Travys Owen

Update February 3, 2016: Angel-Ho & Dope Saint Jude have been added to the 2016 CTEMF lineup. They will replace Okmalumkoolkat. See below for an official map and schedule of CTEMF events. 

The King of Anxiety is finally going to perform for his hometown.

Last month, Cape Town Electronic Music Festival revealed the first phase of its 2016 lineup, with Okmalumkoolkat and gqom producers DJ Lag and Rudeboyz among the artists repping for SA and longtime Warp Records producer Nightmares on Wax joining them from overseas. Today, CTEMF added an additional 24 acts, bringing the total to 39 artists who will perform next month at Cape Town City Hall.

Petite Noir will be making his South African live debut. The Cape Town-raised artist put out one of our favorite albums of 2015 with his stunning debut LP, La Vie Est Belle.

Limpopo-born producer and current Batuk bandmember Aero Manyelo has also been announced, as have Cape Town electronic music pioneer Sibot & Toyota and Cape Town 'spaza' rappers Driemanskap.

CTEMF goes down February 5-7. Check out the full lineup below. Tickets are available for purchase here.

Revisit our exclusive Cape Town In Your Earbuds mixtape series with 2015 CTEMF artists Thor Rixon, John Wizards, Ill Skillz and Jumping Back Slash.

Cape Town Electronic Music Festival 2016 Full Lineup

Adam De Smidt

Aero Manyelo

Andi Dill



Beat Sampras

Boris Brejcha (Germany)


Chloé (France)

Crosby And Friends

Dala Flat


DJ Kenzhero

DJ Lag

DJ Loyd & Sir Vincent

DJ Realrozzano

DJ Rolando (US)

DJ Superfly


Goldie (UK)


Harri & Domenic (UK)

Kyle Russouw & Robin Would


Nightmares On Wax (UK)



Paul Waxon


Petite Noir

Ralf Kollmann (Germany)


Sibot & Toyota

Stone-Age Citizens

Strange Lovers

Terrence Pearce


Vinny Da Vinci

White Nite

Update to the original lineup: Angel-Ho & Dope Saint Jude have been added to the 2016 CTEMF lineup. They will replace Okmalumkoolkat.

Photo: Courtesy of Emerald East

Check Out RIMON's Beautifully Intoxicating Live Performance

The excitement around the songstress and her ever evolving sound, look and feel is very real in "Never Learned how To Cope + Feed Me."

Eritrea-born singer-songwriter RIMON has just released a live performance of her tracks "Never Learned How to Cope" and "Feed Me." The Amsterdam raised and London based songstress delivered a psychedelically beautiful performance live on her YouTube page in such a way that we questioned our sobriety.

The session, originally performed for Eurosonic, acts as a rebirth for the artist as her musical and visual journey continues to evolve before our eyes—while teasing new unreleased music to look forward to. It seems as though those around the singer agree, as she was then honored with a Music Moves Europe award.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Listen to Makhalanjalo's New Single 'Thand'izinto'

Listen to new artist Makhalanjalo's kwaito single 'Thand'izinto' from the upcoming album 'Amanzi'.