The Very Best Share 'Let Go' ft. Vampire Weekend's Chris Baio & Announce New 'Makes A King' LP

Stream The Very Best's new single "Let Go," featuring Chris Baio of Vampire Weekend, featured on their upcoming 'Makes A King' LP.

The Very Best have announced the release of their next full-length Makes A King, the follow-up to 2012's MTMTMK. The duo of Malawian singer Esau Mwamwaya and producer Johan Hugo already shared the time-lapse video for the album's first single "Hear Me" alongside Chris Baio, and now drop "Let Go," another collaboration with the Vampire Weekend bassist. The group's upcoming 13-track album, which is due April 7 on Moshi Moshi, will also feature additional collaborations with Seye, Baaba Maal, Jerere, and Jutty Taylor. The LP was recorded in Malawi’s M’dala Chikowa village and Hugo states that it's about "celebrating the positive and the negative in life – and striving to stay happy through it all.” Stream The Very Best's "Let Go" and see the album's tracklist below via Pitchfork.

Makes A King Tracklist

01 Nkhondo

02 Hear Me

03 Let Go

04 Guju Guju

05 Bilmankwe [ft. Jerere]

06 Sweka

07 Mwana Wanga

08 Mariana [ft. Seye]

09 The Dead and the Dreaming [ft. Seye]

10 Kanyale

11 Umasiye [ft. Baaba Maal]

12 Uhumu

13 Makes a King [ft. Jutty Taylor]

Image courtesy of Killbeatz.

Interview: Killbeatz' Short & Sweet Debut EP, 'Love and Happiness'

We speak to the renowned afrobeats producer about his joint Love and Happiness EP with King Promise & Ofori Amponsah, and his daughter's inspiration behind the project.

Killbeatz needs no introduction. The producer born Joseph Addison is one of the biggest hitmakers as far as afrobeats is concerned. From R2Bees to Sarkodie to FuseODG to M.anifest, Killbeatz has blessed your favorite singers and rappers alike with the soundtracks to their biggest hits. From the azonto era to the global spread of afrobeats, his contribution to African music as a whole cannot be overstated.

However, Killbeatz' influence doesn't stop at just music production. Behind the scenes, he's a complete industry player. The CEO of Ghanaian record label Legacy Life Entertainment, he's responsible for bringing star singer King Promise to the limelight.

Despite producing for the crème de la crème of the Ghanaian music industry as well as several international artists over the length of a decade, the highly-influential producer and instrumentalist never had a project of his own. Now he has set out to change that. In October 2020 Killbeatz dropped his debut EP, titled Love and Happiness.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


Tanzanian Artist Ommy Dimpoz Releases 'Dede' & Energetic Music Video

Tanzanian artist Ommy Dimpoz has dropped his latest track 'Dede' featuring DJ Tira, Dladla Mshunqisi and Prince Bulo in addition to an energetic music video.