Image belongs to South African Hip-Hop Awards

Dee Koala announced Best Female at the South African Hip-Hop Awards 2020.

Here Are the 2020 South African Hip Hop Awards Winners

Cassper Nyovest, Nasty C, Costa Titch and Yanga Chief are just some of the winners from this year's South African Hip-Hop Awards.

The annual South African Hip-Hop Awards winners have been announced. The celebratory awards recognises stand out South African hip hop artists and took place this past Saturday evening. The ninth edition of the South African Hip-Hop Awards was broadcasted on SABC 1 with music fans following the awards show on social media via #SAHHA2020.

Read: Here are the South African Hip Hop Awards 2020 Nominees

Cassper Nyovest led the winner's pack with three awards. The rapper also won "Song of the Year," "Album of the Year" and "Best Male". Costa Titch bagged "Best Collaboration" and "Best Remix" for his "Nkalakatha" remix featuring Riky Rick and AKA. Def Jam's Nasty C raked in a win for "Best Digital Sales". The Zulu Man with Some Power rapper won the category for a second time following last year's win in the same category. Yanga Chief scooped "Best Mixtape" for Becoming A Pop Star (BAPS) while Cape Town rapper Dee Koala won "Best Female".

Twenty-two year old Dee Koala from Khayelitsha broke into Johannesburg's difficult hip-hop scene after getting a cosign from Riky Rick in 2018. Her debut mixtape 4 The Khalthsa landed her on OkayAfrica's 2020 "100 Women" where she was recognised for empowering women and her distinctive rap style. Riky Rick, known for his drip, won the prestigious MVP award which "is for the most bankable artist in monetary terms through achievements". The finely dressed rapper recently released cultural hit "Ungazincishi" featuring Focalistic and Tyler ICU.

Below is the full list of winners:

Song Of The Year

"Good for That" Cassper Nyovest

Best Album

Cassper Nyovest Any Minute Now (A.M.N)

Best International Brand


DJ Of The Year



Riky Rick

Best Digital Sales

Nasty C

Best Remix

"Nkalakatha Remix" by Costa Titch featuring Riky Rick and AKA

Best Radio Show

DJ Ready D Show (Good Hope FM)

Ubuntu Activism

Enzo Slaghuis

Honorary Award

Prophets Of Da City (POC)

Best Video

"More Drugs" by Nadia Nakai ft Tshego Directed by Allesio Bettocchi and Jilten Ramlal

Best Male

Cassper Nyovest

Best Female

Dee Koala

Best Local Brand

Skhanda World

Producer Of The Year


Lyricist Of The Year

Stogie T

Best Freshman


Best Mixtape

Becoming A Pop Star by Yanga Chief

Best Collabo

'Nkalakatha Remix' by Costa Titch


Sarkodie Is Not Feeling Any Pressure

The elite Ghanaian rapper affirms his king status with this seventh studio album, No Pressure.

Sarkodie is one of the most successful African rappers of all time. With over ten years of industry presence under his belt, there's no question about his prowess or skin in the game. Not only is he a pioneer of African hip-hop, he's also the most decorated African rapper, having received over 100 awards from close to 200 nominations over the span of his career.

What else does Sarkodie have to prove? For someone who has reached and stayed at the pinnacle of hip-hop for more than a decade, he's done it all. But despite that, he's still embracing new growth. One can tell just by listening to his latest album, No Pressure, Sarkodie's seventh studio album, and the follow-up to 2019's Black Love which brought us some of the Ghanaian star's best music so far. King Sark may be as big as it gets, but the scope of his music is still evolving.

Sonically, No Pressure is predominantly hip-hop, with the first ten tracks offering different blends of rap topped off with a handful of afrobeats and, finally, being crowned at the end with a gospel hip-hop cut featuring Ghanaian singer MOG. As far as the features go, Sark is known for collaborating mostly with his African peers but this time around he branches out further to feature a number of guests from around the world. Wale, Vic Mensa, and Giggs, the crème de la crème of rap in America and the UK respectively all make appearances, as well as Nigeria's Oxlade, South Africa's Cassper Nyovest, and his fellow Ghanaian artists Darkovibes and Kwesi Arthur.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


The 7 Best Nigerian Songs of the Month (July)

Featuring Olamide, Lady Donli, Omah Lay, Adekunle Gold, Falz and more.