DRC Music 'Kinshasa One Two' Is Out Today

We've been talking about this one for a while — for Kinshasa One Two Damon Albarn enlisted a crew of producers, including Dan the Automator and Jneiro Jarel, to travel down to the Democratic Republic of Congo and record an album in 5 days with local musicians.

Released under the collective moniker DRC Music, all proceeds from sales will go towards helping Oxfam's work in the ailing country. The album is available in CD edition with an accompaniying 12-page booklet and deluxe LP with booklet and "14 x 300 x 300mm art cards housed in their own presentation sleeve."

Stream three album tracks below. Buy Kinshasa One Two now from Warp Records/Oxfam!

DRC Music - Kinshasa One Two (see ) by DRC Music


1. Hallo featuring Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge - listen now above

2. K-Town featuring N'Gotshima and Bebson

3. African Space Anthem (A.S.A) featuring Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo

4. Love featuring Love

5. Lingala featuring Bokatola System and Evala Litongo - listen now above

6. Lourds featuring Yende Bongongo of Okwess International

7. Respect Of The Rules featuring Loi X Liberal

8. We Come From The Forest featuring Bokatola System

9. Customs featuring Bokatola System

10. Virginia featuring Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande

11. Ah Congo featuring Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System - listen now above

12. Three Piece Sweet part 1 & 2 featuring Bebson

13. If You Wish to Stay Awake featuring Washiba

14. Departure featuring Bokatola System

News Brief
Podcast cover art.

Bobi Wine's Release Detailed in Latest Episode of 'The Messenger'

Trauma is the topic on the podcast's latest episode: "The Ballot or The Bullet."

The latest episode of The Messenger is something to behold.

Created by Sudanese-American rapper Bas, The Messenger throws the spotlight on the thunderous circumstances many African countries face, with a close focus on Ugandan politician Bobi Wine.

In his most recent traumatic experience, Wine and his wife Barbara Itungo Kyagulanyi were released from a nearly two-week military house arrest following the ruling of a Ugandan court. Keeping up with current events and circumstances that Wine finds himself in, the latest episode of the podcast recounts the traumatic events that led to Wine's very public abuse and eventual house arrest.

Upon his release, Wine spoke with The Messenger and had this to say, "I want to remind the world that we went in this election knowing how corrupt the staff of the electoral commission is. We saw this through the campaign and the world saw how much was oppressed, how biased and one sided the electoral commission was, and how much it was in the full grip of General Museveni. And therefore we are going to test every legal test, we shall take every legal test. We shall take every legal step. And indeed we shall take every moral and morally proactive, nonviolent, but legal and peaceful step to see that we liberate ourselves. The struggle has not ended. It is just beginning."

Listen to Episode 7 of The Messenger here.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox


The 9 Best Nigerian Songs of the Month (January)

Featuring Ayra Starr, Reekado Banks x Tiwa Savage, Femi Kuti, Wizkid, Burna Boy, Joeboy, Yung L, Buju and more