DJ AQBT's offers a 50-minute Afro-tinged house mix featuring cuts from Burkina Electric, Tinariwen, Nickodemus, Souljazz Orchestra and Kokolo Afrobeat, and plenty more.

DJ AQBT (AQuaBeaT) is a veteran spinner of Haitian descent raised in the predominantly West Indian neighborhood of Flatbush, Brooklyn. His concoction of deep electronic beats and global dance rhythms is influenced by a wide range of acts — he cites the likes of Afrika Bambaataa and the Zulu Nation, German electronic pioneers Kraftwerk, and the avant-garde synthpop of Art of Noise as leaving a mark on his eclectic style.

In Africa In Your Earbuds #6, AQBT offers up a 50-minute Afro-tinged house mix featuring cuts from Burkina Faso's first electronic group Burkina Electric, Mali desert nomads Tinariwen, Turntables On The Hudson's Nickodemus, afrobeat collectives Souljazz Orchestra and Kokolo Afrobeat, and plenty more.

Props to Underdog for the always dope artwork. Peep the full tracklist (AQBT was good enough to share links to spots where you can purchase the individual tunes) and stream/download Africa In Your Earbuds #6: DJ AQBT below!



1. "Afrocentric Intro" - Nickodemus

2. "Subversive Mantra" - Dj. Aqbt (Unreleased)

3. "Back From Afrika (Derek Sessions remix)" - Nickodemus

4. Fefe Naa Efe (Boddhi Satva's Ancestral Soul edit) - Fela Kuti (Nigeria)

5. Tryptich - Santos

6. Awukhu Muzi - Blaq Soul & Busi Mhlongo (South Africa)

7. Kuar (Olof Dreijer remix) - Emmanuel Jal (South Sudan)

8. Ligbi - Burkina Electric (Burkina Faso)

9. Mugambi (RJ Duran edit v Dj.Aqbt) - Soul Jazz Orchestra

10. The Magnificent Seven - Kokolo Afrobeat

11. Soixante Trois (D'oke Tranz mix) - Tinariwen (Mali)

12. Yamma Jatta - Jolla Tribe

13. Lagos Nigeria - Zaka Percussion

Catch DJ AQBT's GetOpen Sessions Radio Mondays 2-4pm for Afro house, deep house, soul, world and dance classics at Dance Gruv.


Burna Boy. Photo by Joseph Okpako/WireImage (via Getty Images).

The 20 Best Nigerian Songs of 2019

Featuring Burna Boy, Rema, Tiwa Savage, Zlatan, Mr Eazi, Wizkid, Teni, Davido, Lady Donli and many more.

2019 was another huge year for Nigerian music.

Zlatan's presence was ubiquitous and powered by the zeal for zanku, a dance which is now de rigueur. Rema led the charge for a group of young breakthrough artists that include Fireboy DML and Joeboy. They all represent an exciting crop of talents that point the way forward for Nigerian pop.

Burna Boy's new dominance, built around his excellent African Giant album, delivered on his rare talents, while the long wait for Davido's sophomore album, A Good Time, paid off in satisfying fashion. Simi's Omo Charlie Champagne Vol. 1 announced her departure from her longterm label. Tiwa Savage also made a highly-discussed move from Mavin Records to Universal Music Group. Meanwhile, Yemi Alade exuded female strength with her latest record, Woman of Steel.

Not to be left out, Wizkid sated demands for his fourth album with a new collaborative EP following a year of stellar features that included his presence on Beyoncé's Lion King: The Gift, an album which also boasts Tekno, Mr Eazi and Tiwa Savage. Mr Eazi also notably launched his emPawa initiative to help fund Africa's promising up-and-coming artists.

Asa returned in a formidable form with Lucid, while buzzing artists like Tay Iwar, Santi, and Lady Donli all shared notable releases. Lastly, the beef between Vector and M.I climaxed and sparked a resurgence of Nigerian rap releases from Phyno to Ycee, PsychoYP and more.

Read on for the best Nigerian songs of 2019. Listed in no particular order. —Sabo Kpade

Follow our NAIJA HITS playlist on Spotify here and Apple Music here.

Keep reading... Show less
Samthing Soweto. Photo by Sabelo Mkhabela.

The 20 Best South African Songs of 2019

Featuring DJ Zinhle, Tellaman, Sun-El Musician, Flame, Kabza De Small, The Big Hash, MFR Souls, Spaza, and many more

This year saw the rise of the new house music subgenre amapiano in South Africa. Artists like Kabza De Small, MFR Souls and others became household names after years of serving a niche fanbase.

While Amapiano is everywhere, it doesn't mean other genres aren't prospering in the country. From the conventional house of DJ Zinhle, the sung raps of Flame and The Big Hash, and the improvisational jazz of Spaza, among other exciting acts, South African artists ensured 2019 was yet another memorable year.

OkayAfrica contributors Mayuyuka Kaunda and Sabelo Mkhabela pick 20 songs they feel were the best this year.

Read our selections below. This list is in no particular order.

Follow our MZANSI HEAT playlist on Spotify here and Apple Music here.

Keep reading... Show less
Still from YouTube.

Watch Zozibini Tunzi's Interview on 'Sway In The Morning'

The newly-crowned Miss Universe says that "if we start instilling leadership in young girls, then they grow up to be the leaders we need in the future."

It's been a few days since Miss South Africa Zozibini Tunzi was crowned this year's Miss Universe. While South Africans and the world are still reeling from the fact that a dark-skinned woman wearing her natural hair (in a fade, mind you) was crowned Miss Universe, Tunzi has already hit the ground running with her international press tour.

Currently in New York City, she stopped by for an interview on Sway in the Morning.

Keep reading... Show less
News Brief

Kwesta and Rick Ross’ Collaboration is Finally Here

Kwesta releases new single featuring Rick Ross, accompanied by a music video.

Around this time last year, Kwesta shared images from a video shoot for a song that features Rick Ross. Today, the South African rapper finally shared the song accompanied by a music video.

Keep reading... Show less

get okayafrica in your inbox